40 year old dev lost at sea and looking for advice [closed]

Career Talk Job Search Queries . 2 years ago

0   2   0   0   0 tuteeHUB earn credit +10 pts

5 Star Rating 5 Rating

Posted on 16 Aug 2022, this text provides information on Job Search Queries related to Career Talk. Please note that while accuracy is prioritized, the data presented might not be entirely correct or up-to-date. This information is offered for general knowledge and informational purposes only, and should not be considered as a substitute for professional advice.

Take Quiz To Earn Credits!

Turn Your Knowledge into Earnings.

tuteehub_quiz

Write Your Comments or Explanations to Help Others

Tuteehub forum answer Answers (2)

profilepic.png
manpreet Tuteehub forum best answer Best Answer 2 years ago

I´m a 40 year old, single and without children, developer. I have a CS degree and I´ve been working as a developer for almost 20 years.

I live and work in Argentina. Argentina has, depending on the information source, a 20-30% yearly inflation rate.

Most dev jobs here are in professional services companies (software factories, staffing), and the few product companies that exist are starting to follow the model of said services companies: a strong hierarchical model where dev is seen as "any can do" work and teams are composed mostly of junior programmers. Someone with 5 years of experience is seen as an expert there.

From 2013 to date all jobs I could get were in professional services companies, be it in software factories or as an external employee with a client. Payment and stability have been poor, treatment has been worse.

Now I face a dilemma, I have 2 job opportunities.