Couple of difficulties when trying to pick up piano again

Course Queries Syllabus Queries 2 years ago

0 2 0 0 0 tuteeHUB earn credit +10 pts

5 Star Rating 1 Rating

Posted on 16 Aug 2022, this text provides information on Syllabus Queries related to Course Queries. Please note that while accuracy is prioritized, the data presented might not be entirely correct or up-to-date. This information is offered for general knowledge and informational purposes only, and should not be considered as a substitute for professional advice.

Take Quiz To Earn Credits!

Turn Your Knowledge into Earnings.

tuteehub_quiz

Answers (2)

Post Answer
profilepic.png
manpreet Tuteehub forum best answer Best Answer 2 years ago

To keep it brief, I have some background in piano. To illustrate what level I used to have, here are some of the works I used to play

• Some fugues from the Well Tempered Clavier (I did especially well on the F major fugue)
  • French suite by Bach
  • Some etudes by Chopin (acceptable, but not satisfactory except for Op.10 No.1 and Op.10 No.4)
  • Appasionata 1st movement by Beethoven

Around six years ago I stopped practicing the piano for hours everyday. Instead I chose to focus on my schoolwork as well as my own band. I still played the piano everyday though, until three years ago I went to another country. But recently I've been thinking about picking up my piano again, partly due to the fact that couple of my friends quit their jobs and made into music schools. But then I have some confusions on what I should do now.

How should I go about taking back my skills? I am pretty sure I cannot start with Chopin's Etudes. But what level of exercise should I start with? Gradus ad Parnassum? Czerny?

I understand that probably the best way to do this is to find a good teacher, but still any thought/suggestion is really appreciated. Thank you.

profilepic.png
manpreet 2 years ago