Number Theory and Cryptography

Course Queries Syllabus Queries 2 years ago

0 2 0 0 0 tuteeHUB earn credit +10 pts

5 Star Rating 1 Rating

Posted on 16 Aug 2022, this text provides information on Syllabus Queries related to Course Queries. Please note that while accuracy is prioritized, the data presented might not be entirely correct or up-to-date. This information is offered for general knowledge and informational purposes only, and should not be considered as a substitute for professional advice.

Take Quiz To Earn Credits!

Turn Your Knowledge into Earnings.

tuteehub_quiz

Answers (2)

Post Answer
profilepic.png
manpreet Tuteehub forum best answer Best Answer 2 years ago

I am a math tutor at a community college, and I stopped in to ask one of the professors a question about crypto and he lent me a graduate level book on for a full year course in the title of this post. The book is way over my head, and assumes you already have taken elementary number theory and abstract algebra. I'm not asking for a crash course, but more of a syllabus for the crash course on which topics to cover so I can handle this book. Does anyone have any suggestions or questions about clarification? EDIT I am already strong in probability/statistics. The book is A Course in Number Theory and Cryptography. Springer-Verlag publishing. Trig and snippets of calculus are how far I have gotten. Do I need to learn the entirety of the prerequisite classes or can I get away with certain chapters/sections. I assume certain chapters feed into crypto while others feed into different topics.

profilepic.png
manpreet 2 years ago

The Graduate Texts in Mathematics brand is a good brand. They're generally pretty easy reads for textbooks. I looked at the Table of Contents on Amazon, and it looks pretty self-contained. Though since it's geared at graduate students and advanced undergraduates, I can understand why you might feel the coverage is insufficient.