Reason for a Cooper “Pair” Formation

Course Queries Syllabus Queries 2 years ago

0 2 0 0 0 tuteeHUB earn credit +10 pts

5 Star Rating 1 Rating

Posted on 16 Aug 2022, this text provides information on Syllabus Queries related to Course Queries. Please note that while accuracy is prioritized, the data presented might not be entirely correct or up-to-date. This information is offered for general knowledge and informational purposes only, and should not be considered as a substitute for professional advice.

Take Quiz To Earn Credits!

Turn Your Knowledge into Earnings.

tuteehub_quiz

Answers (2)

Post Answer
profilepic.png
manpreet Tuteehub forum best answer Best Answer 2 years ago

I'm an Australian high school student (Grade 12). We are currently covering superconductors as a topic for our syllabus. Can someone explain (inasmuch as an advanced 18-year-old physics studentcan understand) why Cooper pairs of electrons (as per the BCS theory) only form in pairs? As I understand it, Cooper pairs form between 2 electrons with opposite spin due to a "phonon exchange", wherein the first electron passing through the metallic lattice induces a distortion of the lattice and hence the creation of a region of higher positive charge density behind it, attracting the second electron with opposite spin (we don't need to know why an opposite spin is required). However, if this second electron also passes through the lattice, and hence creates a region of higher positive charge density behind it, why does it not thence attract another electron and so on? In other words, why do Cooper Pairs form and not Cooper chains? Thanks for your help in advance. *Note: I don't mind what level of understanding your reply requires, I will just try my best to understand more complicated ideas. Thanks

profilepic.png
manpreet 2 years ago