Confusion about random variables and convergence in probabilty and distribution

Course Queries Syllabus Queries 2 years ago

0 2 0 0 0 tuteeHUB earn credit +10 pts

5 Star Rating 1 Rating

Posted on 16 Aug 2022, this text provides information on Syllabus Queries related to Course Queries. Please note that while accuracy is prioritized, the data presented might not be entirely correct or up-to-date. This information is offered for general knowledge and informational purposes only, and should not be considered as a substitute for professional advice.

Take Quiz To Earn Credits!

Turn Your Knowledge into Earnings.

tuteehub_quiz

Answers (2)

Post Answer
profilepic.png
manpreet Tuteehub forum best answer Best Answer 2 years ago

I'm studying statistical analysis and there's something fundamental I'm missing about random variables and how they are used in defining convergence in probability or distribution:

In my syllabus (which is in dutch, so the terms i use might be slightly off), when talking about samples, it says that

If we want to study the properties of a random variable XX in a target population, we take a random aselect sample of nn subjects from a collection of nn random variables X1,...XnX1,...Xn that are all mutually (pairwise?) independent and which all have the same distribution, namely that of XX in the target population.

A bit further, discussing convergence, it says

An infinite row of random variables X1,X2,...X1,X2,... on a probability space converges in probability to XX if the folowing is true for each ϵ>0ϵ>0limnP(|XnX|)0limn→∞P(|Xn−X|)≥0

What I don't understand is what XiXi actually means in these two contexts. I read it as follows: In the first part, it is presented as one choice from the population: XiXi is the length of the 

0 shares
profilepic.png
manpreet 2 years ago