How to visualise and understand the sum and product rules of counting?

Course Queries Syllabus Queries 2 years ago

0 2 0 0 0 tuteeHUB earn credit +10 pts

5 Star Rating 1 Rating

Posted on 16 Aug 2022, this text provides information on Syllabus Queries related to Course Queries. Please note that while accuracy is prioritized, the data presented might not be entirely correct or up-to-date. This information is offered for general knowledge and informational purposes only, and should not be considered as a substitute for professional advice.

Take Quiz To Earn Credits!

Turn Your Knowledge into Earnings.

tuteehub_quiz

Answers (2)

Post Answer
profilepic.png
manpreet Tuteehub forum best answer Best Answer 2 years ago

I'm a sixth form student from an A-level background studying the national curriculum in Bangladesh. One of the topics covered in the syllabus are the aforementioned rules of counting. There are mostly theorems and definitions and proofs in the books. The examples that are there build up on these theorems but I don't understand all of the theorems to begin with.

I found a tree diagram in a Cambridge A level S1 book that explained the permutations of three letters ABC.
Now, from the tree diagram, I understand that for the first position we can have three letters and for the second position we are left with two letters and so on - meaning each of the three main branches have two sub-branches and each of the two sub-branches each have one branch. This shows that there are 3*2*1 arrangements. Extending this concept, they showed that for n unique objects there are n*(n-1)*(n-2)*...*3*2*1 permutations which is denoted by n!.

tl;dr

Can you explain the product rule in layman's terms? I don't understand the part about independence and dependence of events on which the rule being used depends. Please include examples which illustrate the concept. :(

profilepic.png
manpreet 2 years ago