Passing pointers between setup and loop

General Tech Learning Aids/Tools . 2 years ago

0   2   0   0   0 tuteeHUB earn credit +10 pts

5 Star Rating 5 Rating

Posted on 16 Aug 2022, this text provides information on Learning Aids/Tools related to General Tech. Please note that while accuracy is prioritized, the data presented might not be entirely correct or up-to-date. This information is offered for general knowledge and informational purposes only, and should not be considered as a substitute for professional advice.

Take Quiz To Earn Credits!

Turn Your Knowledge into Earnings.

tuteehub_quiz

Write Your Comments or Explanations to Help Others

Tuteehub forum answer Answers (2)

profilepic.png
manpreet Tuteehub forum best answer Best Answer 2 years ago

I'm new to the Arduino world. The last time i was programming microprocessors, was back with the Z80 in assembly language.

I am also teaching myself C++ and seems to be going quite well.

I have decided to write my own 'library' for driving 7 segment LED's. The reason for writing my own, rather then using an existing one is to aid with the learning process. I'm quite pleased to say it works ( it may not be the most efficient code)

The books I have on C++ are great, but i do find sometimes the explanation of concepts seem to get lost.

what I would like to know, how do you go about initialising an object class in setup() and using it in loop()? I have this sneaky suspicion that it involves creating the object on the heap, and passing a pointer to the object over somehow.

I could just initialise it once in loop(), and make my own continuous loop afterwards, but there are other things done between the and of a loop() and the beginning of the next loop() (things like timer interrupts).

I will post the code im using, but not the library unless asked to, as it is quite a few lines.

# include "Leddisplay.h"
void setup() {

byte Digit[9] = { 22, 23 , 24 ,25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 2 };